Live at Luna – Gerry Gibbs Thrasher Big Band

WCS 033 

Live at Luna

Gerry Gibbs Thrasher Big Band


“One of the best big band records I’ve heard in a long time.” -TERRY GIBBS

 The Whaling City Sound debut of drummer Gerry Gibbs, delivers eclectic, modern big band jazz that draws on the greats from the ‘60s and ‘70s. Ten compositions, five of them originals, are influenced by the writing style of Gil Evans, Thad Jones, McCoy Tyner and Jaco Pastorius. The Thrasher Big Band has backed up jazz legends Terry Gibbs, Clark Terry, James Moody and Jon Hendricks. With Gerry at the helm, this disc covers everything from bebop and straight-ahead jazz to avant-garde and world music.


Gerry Gibbs / drums, quicka

Adrian Ruiz / trumpet, tambourine

Andy Langham / acoustic piano, fender rhodes, mini-moog, clavinet, cosmic space synthesizer

Hamilton Price / acoustic bass

Rob Hardt / lead alto/soprano sax, clarinet, flute, piccolo flute, oboe, bass clarinet

Justin Vasquez / alto/soprano sax, computer soundscapes, flute, acoustic piano

Morgan King / tenor/alto sax, clarinet, flute

Ricky Sweum / tenor/soprano sax, clarinet, flute

Eric Hargett / baritone/tenor/electric tenor sax, bass clarinet

David Guidi / tenor sax, flute

Freddie Mendoza / trombone

Gilbert Garza / trombone

Ron Wilkins / bass trombone, tuba

Rick Horn / lead trumpet, flugelhorn

Al Gomez / trumpet, flugelhorn

Jason Jones / trumpet, flugelhorn

Curtis Calderon / trumpet, flugelhorn

Pat Murray / trumpet

Joan Carroll / vocals